Promotion time – 3MT

So, apparently I’m doing this: https://uc3mt2017.eventbrite.com.au/

For those interested in research it’s not a bad night. You learn some pretty interesting work people are doing. Also, you get to hear me rabbit on for three minutes about my thesis (non existent thesis…..but you know, the thought is there.)

One of the greatest values of the 3MT is not the night itself but the process I go through to think about my work in three minute block. What is my research actually about? What is the value? The approach? And above all, why should anyone care?

It’s a good discipline and this year I actually reframed my research questions based on the thinking I did for 3MT. I believe the best thing about my research and my approach is the way it makes my brain work in different ways. The exploration in my research is leading me to explore in life. The concise nature of 3MT is helping me refine and articulate my ideas, and in turn this helps me think about how I communicate more broadly with others.

Not sure I ever want to complete my thesis given how awesome this journey is!

Oh wait, the theoretical model I need to do…..yep, okay, it can finish now…..

Leave a Reply

