Oh my, how it hurts

Long time, no post. It’s been a time of darkness. Theory is the worst. It’s just a bunch of people deciding to make life inaccessible to everyone else because they think they are smarter than the average bear. Well, they are not.

Today I managed to draw together almost 3 000 words as required by my supervisor to introduce my theory chapter. It has taken me two horrible weeks to get a measly, not very good, not even 3 000 words. The small breakthrough came when I realised it’s all about the code. I went to PAX last weekend and took my lap top to work and I did, but that’s not the point I’m trying to make. I realised there that everything has its code. It’s right of passage. Each game I played and talked about has its own set of rules and lexicon. I can engage with others about the game because I share the knowledge they do about the rules and lexicon. People who don’t know, can’t engage.

Theory is the same. People who don’t know about post-structuralism and discourse theory won’t be able to read my thesis. And to be honest that’s a little bit bullshit. So, I’ve spent some difficult time trying to work out how to make what is quite simply inaccessible, accessible. I’ll be honest, I still don’t get it. I still don’t know what all the fancy terms mean. I am trying hard and reading lots. But it all seems a bit silly. I’m going to review the words I’ve written over the weekend and then send onto David and Linda and see what they think. I really am getting close to “this bucket of prawns needs to go” in attitude. Maybe it’s time to do something else. *grin*

Oh and if anyone knows what I mean regarding the bucket of prawns – let me know, it just felt like the right thing to write….

Leave a Reply

