A bit more tricky…

As with last week, I’ve been lucky enough to have another study day. It’s been productive with slides drafted for introduction seminar, reading done for policy literature section and some revelations around how I might go about this. A bit more uphill today for a range of reasons, but what is interesting is the use of the timetable.

I was sceptical when I attended a session on how to do planning (after all I’m a project manager in my day job – seriously I’m all over plans!) but I went and the instructor said to start with your three years and then get it down to each day. I mocked. I did. I shouldn’t have. Planning my days at the start and then managing those times is perfect. It keeps me focussed and on track. Today it has also given me a bit of catch up space. A couple of things I planned didn’t pan out (I can’t get a thesis online – I have to go to a library – sigh) and some things went quicker than expected so I haven’t really followed the plan, but the plan gave me the next bit to get to. On top of that I have a task list attached to the plan so when I had ‘free’ time I was able to get to those.

On thing I did find today which was perfect for my job as well as the thesis (love this confluence of activities!) is this:

[courses in higher education today are]: “…(1) programs are not standardized, but vary sharply in character, funding, pedagogy, function and the like; (2) they are transitory, on trial, not firmly institutionalized; and (3) they are under continual assessment for their costs and effectiveness.”

Martin Trow Twentieth Century Higher Education: Elite to Mass to Universal (Page 540)

While Trow was referring to the US he is spot on the money about the universal aspects of higher education. To meet universal education the three elements above are necessary for success. The question is, who is providing universal education? Should every University? Should it be a different type of institution? Is it my University? All food for thought.

 

Leave a Reply

